Tidbits

Yeah, I know, I’ve been slacking off the last few days. I have been working, just not on bloggable stuff (I just invented a new word!).

In case you missed these stories over the weekend, we had a Week 1 football practice update, and we covered a Mooreville-Saltillo softball game. In Tuesday’s Journal, look for a prep notebook, especially if you’re a Tishomingo County or Smithville fan.

I’ve got to get out to some practices this week: Okolona, Aberdeen, Tupelo Christian, among others. We’re less than two weeks from the publication of the Football Journal (Aug. 24). Stuff’s slowly coming together.

I chatted with West Point coach Chris Chambless today, hoping for an update on transfer Markell Lee. All Chambless could tell me is that the 6-foot-5 linebacker, formerly of Corinth, is not yet practicing with the team. He’s apparently taking summer classes to get academically eligible.

Speaking of West Point, ICC and East Mississippi will play a football game there Oct. 18. That’s kind of cool.

I also spoke with Aberdeen coach Chris Duncan, who said his Bulldogs are much further along than they were this time last year in regards to getting schemes put together and learned. Duncan is entering his second season at the helm.

6 Comments

Filed under Football, Softball

6 responses to “Tidbits

  1. roastbeef1

    has a schedule to the Ole Miss jamboree been released? I heard Ripley is playing Center Hill at 2 and IAHS is playing Clarksdale at 6 but that’s all I’ve heard.

  2. I haven’t seen one yet, but I bet I can get a hold of one Wednesday. I know Shannon is playing Olive Branch again.

  3. djt27

    I GOT THAT FOOTAGE OF WILLIAM “TOOT” GREEN ON YOUTUBE…JUST TYPE IN, WILLIAM “TOOT” GREEN AND IT SHOULD POP-UP!!

  4. roastbeef1

    If you can get hold of one and post that up, I’d appreciate it. I live about 3 minutes from Vaught Hemingway so I’m planning on buying a ticket and watching some football all day. I think IAHS/Clarksdale and Shannon/OB will be two very interesting games. Olive Branch has had so much hype this preseason, I’d like to see them.

  5. roastbeef1

    oh, and nice highlight film. Green’s performance against IAHS was amazing. That play around the 9:10 mark on your tape was unreal.

  6. djt27

    THANKS FOR THE PROPS ON THE HIGHLIGHT FILM…..

Leave a Reply

