Mid-Summer Doldrums

Unbelievably, I have plenty of stuff to keep me busy this week, and not all of it is related to the Football Journal. For instance, I’ve penned – OK, typed – a column for Thursday’s paper about how hard it is to wait for football season.

That sentiment was expressed by our friend charleston11, who this afternoon was wondering when the Football Journal will be published. Aug. 17 is the target date (a Sunday, of course). There is much work to be done between now and then, but I’m afraid it’s still too early to devote my full attention to it.

On Thursday, we’ll be covering American Legion baseball (Tupelo at Pontotoc). We’ve got the MAC North/South All-Star Basketball Games on Saturday in Clinton, and the Bernard Blackwell All-Star Football Classic is next Thursday, also in Clinton. And before the month’s out, the MHSAA is supposed to decide the fate of the Grand Slam.

In tomorrow’s paper, along with my column, we’ll have a story on Tupelo wide receiver Justin Bean, who’s made his college choice (the story will include a Chad Bumphis recruiting update). I’ll have a prep notebook Friday with some football coaching news to report.

So I’m doing what I can to combat the mid-summer doldrums. August can’t get here soon enough.

3 Comments

Filed under General/other

3 responses to “Mid-Summer Doldrums

  1. mmsdawg

    I hope some of the coaching news involves Tupelo football. Rumor has it that several assts. are gone….

  2. charleston11

    And I would hope that it would include more than 1 page for Tupelo unlike last year.

  3. Please elaborate, charleston11, because I’ve got no clue what you’re referring to.

Leave a Reply

