Yay, I’m Back

Forgive my unannounced absence, but I was down with some mysterious illness over the weekend. Better now than in the middle of football season, I suppose.

I guess this can be our Link of the Day: The Biloxi Sun-Herald did a story recently on West Point native Forrest Williams becoming the new football coach at St. Stanislaus. Williams played high school ball at Oak Hill Academy. I’ll see if I can track him down and write a little something later this week.

In reviewing the weekend, a non-local team won the Tupelo 49ers Invitational, which wrapped up Monday. No clue who that team was, and since it was a team from Alabama, I don’t care.

The NEMCABB Tournament will hold its Class 3A/4A/5A final today at the New Albany Sportsplex. Gene Phelps is scheduled to cover. And a reminder that the MAC North/South All-Star Basketball Games will be Saturday at Mississippi College (Gene on the job again, which probably leaves y’all to wonder what the heck I’m doing; I’d tell you, but I’d have to kill you).

2 Comments

Filed under General/other

2 responses to “Yay, I’m Back

  1. charleston11

    When will the football preview be out and who from this area do you see making Dandy Dozen in football?

  2. The preview is tentatively scheduled for publication Sunday, Aug. 17. That’s 11 days before the Thursday public school openers, five days before private schools begin.

    As for the Dandy Dozen, I saw today where Tupelo’s Chad Bumphis was chosen (the C-L is revealing the names one day at a time through July 19). I reckon his teammate, Chris Garrett, will be on there. I’m not expecting anyone else from around here to make it, although I would like to think Richard Freelon (Bruce) and William Shumpert (IAHS) were considered.

Leave a Reply

