Six Classes: More Than Enough?

As you might have read in today’s Journal, the MHSAA has approved a plan to add a sixth classification, probably beginning with the 2009-10 school year. I’m not sure I like it, but I’ll flesh out my thoughts this morning and write a column for tomorrow’s paper. Good work by Gene Phelps.

Right now, 5A is composed of the 32 largest schools (by enrollment). Our source has told us that will not change in the 6A setup, but I’ve seen speculation over the past few months that if this did happen, then 6A would get 40 schools. We should know the answer to that question Friday, when the MHSAA makes its official announcement.

Hopefully, we’ll be in the second day of the MHSAA Baseball State Championships at that point, weather permitting. It all starts tomorrow with Tupelo taking on Ocean Springs at 4 p.m. We’ll take a look at each series in Thursday’s Journal.

Today’s question: Is expanding to six classes a good idea? Why or why not?

1 Comment

Filed under General/other

One response to “Six Classes: More Than Enough?

  1. tcfan

    I don’t like the idea of 6A. It really, in my opinion, complicates matters worse. The five classifications should be evened out to bulk up 5A a little bit and they should just leave it alone. 6A will just make everything worse in my opinion. It may just be a big change that makes me opposed to the idea, but I don’t think that having 5 classifications is that bad.

Leave a Reply

