MAC Coaches of the Year

The Mississippi Assocation of Coaches released its list of Coaches of the Year for 2007-08, even though the spring sports season is in full playoff swing. Seems a bit early, but here it is.

Boys basketball: Robert Byrd, New Hope

Girls basketball: Joe Miller, Southeast Lauderdale

Boys soccer: Andy Kivlan, Pearl

Girls soccer: Josh Avenmarg, Ridgeland

Baseball: Joe Sam Owen, St. Patrick

Golf: Howard McNeill, Gulfport

Boys track: Heath Dudley, J.Z. George

Girls track: Billy Lamb, Madison Central

Athletic Director: Jerry Alexander, Moss Point

Fast-pitch softball: Justin Chaney, Newton Co.

Slow-pitch softball: Allen Lunceford, Clinton

Tennis: Niki Peel, Tupelo

Powerlifting: Mike Hendershot, Scott Central

Volleyball: Mike Meyers, Our Lady Aca. (not the fictional serial killer or comedic actor, although I suppose he could be so funny he “kills” you)

These coaches will be honored June 27 at the Hilton Hotel in Jackson. So will the coaches honored back in December: Al Jones, George Co. (football); Bobby Purvis, Kossuth (boys cross country); and Mike Bain, Pontotoc (girls cross country).


Leave a comment

Filed under General/other

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s