All-Area Hoops Coming

The Daily Journal All-Area basketball teams will be revealed in Sunday’s editions. I’m still trying to hammer out some third-teamers, but it’s pretty well set. There will be 15 boys and 15 girls selected – five first team, five second team, five third team.

The boys first team was especially hard to pick. I had about four guys vying for the last two spots. I’ll give you a hint: Each plays for a 4A team. But just making this team is a pretty good accomplishment. I had 41 boys and 36 girls nominated. Thanks to all the coaches who took the time to send in the stats and such.

I considered several factors in picking these teams. I put heavy weight on a player’s all-around game. Which means, just because you can score 25 a game doesn’t necessarily mean you’re a first-team lock.

I talked with several coaches – high school, juco, AAU – to help me get a better picture of some of these players, and how some of them compare to others. Those coaches were especially helpful with the head-to-head comparisons.

I feel very good about how the teams turned out. As usual, the toughest part is picking that third team. By that point, you’ve got a lot of players who are very similar in ability.

I hope that y’all take notice of the nice portraits our photographers did of the players and coaches of the year. However, there was one player we could not get into the studio, so we’re having to go with an action shot.

In case you don’t or can’t get the Sunday Journal, I’ll post the list here at some point that day (probably after church). Now, I’ve got to go tidy up this project.

Leave a comment

Filed under Basketball

Leave a Reply

