Players Plus; Springing Into Spring

Meant to do this the other day. Now that the high school page is finally back, so is the Players of the Week feature. To review, last week’s honorees were Katie Cole (Tupelo softball) and Daniel Tunnell (New Albany baseball). But two others were nominated:

Shelby Howell, Mooreville softball: Shelby was 6-for-10 with a double and 5 RBIs, and played some solid defense, over a three-game span.

Zach Chavers, Pontotoc baseball: The junior shortstop was 7-for-10 with four doubles, two homers and 6 RBIs in three games for the Warriors.

Now that spring is officially here, we’ll finally be in full spring sports mode – well, I do have that All-Area basketball thing to finish for Sunday. But, I’ll be out at area baseball diamonds this week, just as I was last week (freezing my buns off at those 7 p.m. starts).

Also, I’m working on a story about Dwight Bowling‘s new book; the former Smithville football coach, who’s now at Sulligent, Ala., has published his playbook. I’m sure it’s actually not that simple of a tome, but I haven’t talked with him yet about it.

I’m also planning something on Houlka basketball coach Jimmy Guy McDonald, whom I inadvertently left out of Friday’s centerpiece on 1,000-win coaches. I had this nagging feeling all week as I worked on it that something was amiss. Why it never dawned on me, I’ll never know. That’s typical me.

So I’ve got plenty going on this week. I’m sure you do, too, but I appreciate everyone who stops by to peek at my ramblings. Have a great Monday!

5 Comments

Filed under General/other

5 responses to “Players Plus; Springing Into Spring

  1. tcfan

    Brad, are you going to the New Albany/Tishomingo County game tomorrow @ New Albany?

  2. I won’t be there, but Jay Tidwell will. I’ll be at the Nettleton-South Pontotoc game. Two great matchups, no? Shoot, I could just about justify covering every single Region 1-4A baseball game; that’s how good the teams are. I thoroughly enjoyed Friday’s Saltill0-Shannon game, and those two teams might not even make the playoffs because of how tough the division is.

  3. tcfan

    Yeah, I heard some pessimists the other day saying how weak 1-4A was this year with Itawamba being down but I certainly think it’s one of the toughest, if not THE, toughest division in 4A. As for Nettleton/South Pontotoc, should be a good one. Some people talked early how South Pontotoc was overrated but I highly disagree.

  4. tcfan

    Oh yeah, if you didn’t know, Matt Davis has been out the past couple weeks (not including his ‘rehab inning’ against Center Hill?), and he’ll make a return tomorrow from what I hear against NA with Luna going for them. You were right on the baseball preview when you said our pitching staff was deep, and as Coach Long said, we have to hit the ball to be tough this year. So far we’ve hit the ball pretty well.

  5. Thanks for that tidbit. I’ll pass it on to Jay. Hope Luna throws, too.

Leave a Reply

