Who’s No. 1?

OK. Now what? With a 29-28 defeat of Shannon, Itawamba AHS has shaken up the Daily Journal’s Large School rankings. Should the Indians be the new No. 1? Or should that honor go to No. 2 West Point? The Green Wave’s lone loss was to Shannon – 36-35 in the season opener.

If you want to use pure logic, IAHS should definitely be No. 1, since it beat Shannon, which beat West Point (which, by the way, beat No. 4 Starkville, which just beat the No. 2-ranked 5A team in the state, Olive Branch). Logic, of course, is a scarce commodity in high school football, which is what makes it so wonderful. Heck, who thought Mooreville would be on the verge of the playoffs after losing three straight Region 1-3A games?

What makes this whole thing tougher is that no other top-5 teams lost, but you can’t knock Shannon out completely for a one-point setback. I’m afraid No. 5 Lafayette County seems the likeliest candidate for removal. The thing is, the difference between the top seven or eight large schools in this area is quite small; a lot of parity. Maybe I should expand the rankings.

So, give me your thoughts. The new rankings will be decided upon Sunday and released in Monday’s editions.

13 Comments

Filed under Football

13 responses to “Who’s No. 1?

  1. tupelopixdotcom

    Tough decision. My top 3 (which dosen’t count anyhow)

    1. IAHS
    2. Tupelo
    3. Shannon
    4. West Point
    5. Starkville

    Although I think Tupelo could probably beat anybody in the top 5 right now, we’ll see about them when they play Olive Branch…

  2. tupelopixdotcom

    I meant top 5 btw….

  3. tcfan

    West Point
    IAHS
    Shannon
    Tupelo
    Starkville

    in my opinion, West Point has done nothing but roll since the early Shannon loss.

  4. roastbeef1

    1. Tupelo
    2. Itawamba
    3. West Point
    4. Shannon
    5. Starkville

    I right now would have Tupelo #1. Eventhough they have 2 losses, one of them was to South Panola. If all of these teams played them, they would also have an extra loss. To me, that’s the only thing that needs to be up for discussion is who deserves #1 between IAHS and Tupelo and who deserves #3 between West Point and Shannon. I’ve seen both IAHS and Tupelo play and I think Tupelo is a little better. I think IAHS’s defensive and offensive lines are about the same or a little better. Tupelo’s skilled position players are much better though. I think the quarterback battle would be a coin flip. If these two teams played, Tupelo would probably win in a close one.

    As for the #3 ranking, I would go with West Point. I know Shannon beat them, but that was also the first game of the year. Lots can change. Last time I checked, the team that could be #1 in this weeks poll (IAHS), lost to Amory in the first game.

    And please note that I’m an IAHS alum so I’m not using any Tupelo bias in this. I just think they’re the best team right now.

  5. fbfanatic

    1. IAHS
    2. West Point
    3. Shannon
    4. Tupelo
    5. Starkville

    Itawamba should finally get the respect they deserve. They can beat any of the top five at any given time provided the referees just let them play not like it was at Amory. Itawamba has the best offensive line in the state; the only team that can stop their offense is Itawamba itself.

  6. charleston11

    The #1 team in this area should be Tupelo but that will never happen based on “them having to prove something”. They could beat any 4A and 3A team around now-October 28, not 1997 thru 2007, but now. So if we deal in the present (now) Tupelo has the best QB, best skill postion players (maybe not the best defense) but as a team, they should be #1.
    #1 Tupelo
    #2 West Point
    #3 Starkville
    #4 IAHS
    #5 Shannon

    Shannon is very overrated.

  7. pctucker

    Itawamba, no doubt. Well balanced team, with lots of talent on both sides of the line. Best coached team at high school level. No doubt they have matured as a team since season opener. Shannon/Itawamba game good enough for ESPN showing!
    Go Indians!!!!

  8. 56fan

    #1 IAHS
    #2 Tupelo
    #3 West Point
    #4 Starkville
    #5 Shannon

    All great teams! I can’t wait until playoffs.

  9. codyspencer

    #1 Itawamba
    #2 West Point
    #3 Starkville
    #4 Tupelo
    #5 Shannon

    I don’t care if IAHS wasn’t ranked! They should be #1. They have a awesome team. They could be any of these teams now. I know Amory beat them, but it was the first game, and the refs made some bad calls. I am from Fulton, and I am not taking anything away from the other 4 teams. They are all good. Shannon I think, are just a little overrated. I believe they got the big head this week before Itawamba rolled into town. West Point, Shannon, and Itawamba would be good picks to make it to Jackson to play for the 4A State Championship!

  10. tcfan

    Shannon isn’t overrated, IAHS might’ve been a little underrated, but Shannon is as good as a team as any team in the North. I’m sure IAHS doesn’t want to meet them again in the North Half playoffs. IAHS shouldn’t jump from NR to #1 JUST BECAUSE they beat Shannon. Unless you’re around #5 in the polls in college and beat a #1 team, you’re probably not going to jump to number 1. I’m not trying to justify that IAHS isn’t as good, but you shouldn’t punish WP for their division schedule and not just winning but basically ROLLING through their tough division.

  11. fanoffb

    I LOVE FOOTBALL AND I REALLY DON’T CARE WHAT ANYONE SAY’S TO BE NINE AND ONE YOU HAVE TO BE GOOD. ALL OF THESE YOUNG MEN HAVE DONE GREAT TO BE WHERE THEY ARE, YES ALL DIVISION’S ARE DIFFERENT SOME TOUGHER THAN OTHERS BUT YOU HAVE SOME OF THESE BOY’S WHO ARE NOT GOING TO LOSE IF AT ALL POSSIBLE. I.A.H.S SHANON WEST POINT TEAMS LIKE THAT DESERVE A CHANCE TO SHOW WHAT THEY CAN DO. OH AND AS OF RIGHT NOW I.A.H.S IS LEADING 20-0 AT THE HALF AGAINST CLEAVLAND

  12. fanoffb

    AND BY THE WAY SMART FOOTBALL IS A WHOLE LOT BETTER THAN BIG FOOTBALL HINT’S GO INDIANS!!!!!

  13. fanoffb

    WELL THE PLAYOFFS ARE HERE SO I GUESS WE’LL SEE WHO’S GONNA DO WHAT. WEST POINT SHANON AND IAHS ALL WON SO AT LEAST THERE IS STILL A CHANCE THAT ONE OF OUR TEAMS (4A)THAT JUST MIGHT GO TO STATE. I ALSO THINK THAT THE RANKING SYSTEM WE HAVE IS FINE I DO NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT

Leave a Reply

